The Enterprise

Patrick County designated primary natural disaster area

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated Patrick County as a primary natural disaster area. Producers who suffered losses due to drought that occurred July 15 through Oct. 31, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Virginia counties of Carroll, Floyd, Franklin, Henry, and Martinsville, along with Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Oct. 19, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment…

Read Full Article Here

Thank you for supporting local journalism. Please enjoy four free articles per month.

Subscribe | Login